Now in its 29th year, Environmental Respect Awards (ERA) is the agricultural industry’s premier stewardship program honoring outstanding work in preserving the environment through safe, responsible business practices.


ERA is sponsored by Corteva Agriscience™ and presented by CropLife® and AgriBusiness Global™ magazines.

Since 1990, ERA has honored crop protection retailers and distributors for their demonstrated environmental stewardship. Farming and land management practices can impact soil, air, water, and biodiversity for the better or worse. ERA seeks to recognize outstanding efforts to enhance and preserve the environment. New in 2019, we have broadened the awards to include not only crop protection and seed retailers/agents/agencies, but also service providers, integrated producers and public agencies.

ERA is an excellent vehicle for customers and industry partners to receive recognition and reward for good work done above and beyond business and regulatory requirements, and an enhanced relationship with Corteva Agriscience.

Judging is conducted by panels comprised of a majority of non-Corteva Agriscience employees.

The ERA program recognizes that it takes a concerted effort between farmers, providers of inputs and services, and our consumers and communities to positively promote stewardship and balance the environmental impacts of agriculture and land management. ERA winners have displayed outstanding initiative and commitment to the environment, their business partners, communities and customers.


ERA’s purpose is to honor achievements, celebrate best practices and highlight effective partnerships in stewardship between Corteva Agriscience and our value channel partners.


The Environmental Respect Awards program has been expanded in 2019! It now includes entities such as service providers, integrated producers, and public agencies, as well as crop protection and seed retailers/agents/agencies.

Former Regional Winners are not eligible to be considered for additional awards until five or more years after their award. Other retail locations from the same distributor are eligible to participate.

Former winners of State/Province and Country Champion awards can re-submit their nominations in any subsequent years to compete for the higher level awards.

NOT eligible are outlets owned by crop protection companies with an internal research and development organization.


Those desiring to enter visit to enter the program and provide evidence of their achievements.

These applicants conduct a self-audit of their own businesses, using the new streamlined Environmental Respect Self-Audit entry form, and submit the online entry after uploading photos and supporting documents for confidential review.

An independent panel of judges assesses all entries.


Unlimited Merit Awards are provided for all entrants that represent stewardship excellence.

Unlimited State/Province or Country Champion honors are determined from among the Merit winners  from each state/province/country judged to be the best in that geography.

For North America, up to four Regional awards are granted to entrants judged to be the best among the state/province winners. Regional Winners from each of three U.S. regions (West, Central, and East) and Canada are invited to Washington, D.C. for a gala celebration September 30 to October 4, 2019. A top regional award – named as “Ambassador of Respect” –  is revealed only at the grand finale of the gala celebration.

For Latin America, we will confer up to six Regional awards at the judges’ discretion: Up to two each  from Brazil, the MesoAndean, and the Southern Cone. An “Ambassador of Respect” will be named for Latin America and revealed at the grand finale of the gala celebration.

For Europe we will confer up to four Regional awards, at the judges’ discretion, one each from Northern, Central, Southern, and Eastern commercial units.

For Middle East and Africa, judges will look to name one Regional winner. An “Ambassador of Respect” will be named from among the EU and AME regions and revealed at the grand finale of the gala celebration.

For Asia-Pacific, judges will confer up to four Regional awards, one each for Greater China, South Asia, ASEAN, and Japan/Korea/Australia/New Zealand,  at the judges’ discretion.


June 21, 2019


Demonstration of leadership in compliance, proper material handling and application techniques, and safety of all kinds.

Display of concern for customer success, service and safety, and of environmental stewardship on behalf of farmers and consumers.

Active participation in environmental stewardship and in safety education for employees, customers, and the community.

Specific categories of achievement for all entrants include:

  • Personal commitment
  • Customer involvement
  • Employee education
  • Community outreach
  • Innovative technology
  • Educational enrichment
  • Professionalism
  • Personal/business success factors
  • Customer success factors, including trait stewardship
  • Awareness and engagement in environmental and community concerns
  • Aspirations


  • All who enter receive a recognition certificate. A Merit award is provided to each entrant meeting the judges’ minimum criteria.
  • State/Province winners and Country Champions receive a custom trophy and a publicity effort touting their award-winning achievements.
  • Regional Winners receive a custom trophy, a publicity campaign, and an expense-paid trip for a company representative to be honored at the Environmental Respect Awards event in Washington, D.C., in October 2019.
  • From each of the four major regions (North America, Latin America, Europe Middle East Africa, and Asia-Pacific), one Regional Winner is named Ambassador of Respect at the Awards Ceremony and receives a special custom trophy and publicity campaign.


Winning an Environmental Respect Award is an honor to instill pride among all involved with a nomination. Merit winners can feel good about moving forward on a worthwhile journey and make plans to redouble their efforts. State and Country winners can enjoy a customer appreciation day or open house with their local community. Regional Winners enjoy a three-day autumn event in Washington, D.C. and the surrounding area. Activities include cultural sharing among the winners, embassy and legislative engagement, a field tour of agricultural operations on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, and networking receptions.

Regional Winners are honored at a gala reception and banquet, where they receive their trophies and where the four Ambassadors of Respect are revealed. (And a good time is had by all!)