Webinar To Focus On Proposed Changes To Worker Protection Standard

Webinar

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has proposed changes to the agricultural Worker Protection Standard (WPS) to increase protections from pesticide exposure for agricultural workers. Proposed changes include increased frequency of mandatory trainings for farm workers, expanded mandatory posting of no-entry signs, minimum age requirement and no-entry buffer areas surrounding pesticide-treated fields.

This presentation by Erik R. Janus will describe the recently proposed changes to the Worker Protection Standard (WPS) for Agricultural Pesticides, provide a critique of these changes and associated costs, and present the challenges and potential in the industry with regard to compliance with and implementation of the revised WPS. In addition, it will provide helpful hints and resources to interact with the federal government during the rulemaking process.

This presentation will help you:

  • Identify the major revisions being proposed for the WPS for Agricultural Chemicals
  • Understand how the benefits described in the legislation are quantified
  • Identify some limitations of the technical and economic analysis in the proposed legislation
  • Have an increased awareness of the federal regulatory process
  • Have an increased awareness of how regulatory staff can interact with the government and others during the rulemaking process to effect positive change

Benefits of the session:

  • Knowledge of proposed (and existing) legislation that impacts operations of agricultural companies and producers
  • Resources for understanding federal rulemaking
  • Resources to interact with the federal government during rulemaking
  • Tips and tools that companies (large and small) could use to enhance their regulatory affairs and compliance profile

Conference Date: Wednesday , January 21, 2015 | Length: 60 Minutes
Time: 1 p.m. ET | 12 p.m. CT | 11 a.m. MT | 10 a.m. PT
Speaker:  Erik R. Janus

If interested, you can register directly using the link provided below:

CLICK HERE TO REGISTER